Log in
  • Home
  • Kansas City Poets: A Virtual AWP Offsite Event

Kansas City Poets: A Virtual AWP Offsite Event

  • 6 Mar 2021
  • 7:00 PM
  • Virtual via Zoom (advance registration required)

When: Mar 6, 2021 07:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing
information about joining the meeting.

Erin Adair-Hodges is the author of Let’s All Die Happy, winner of the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize. Her work appears in American Poetry Review, Kenyon Review, Ploughshares, and more. She is an assistant professor of creative writing at the UCM and co-edits Pleiades.

Catherine Anderson's most recent collection of poetry is Everyone I Love Immortal. The author of three other books of poems, she lives in Kansas City where she works with area refugees and immigrants.

Janet M. Banks has been published in many literary magazines/journals and has three books of poetry— STEWED SOUL, ON THE EDGE OF URBAN and DISRUPTING THE FLOW.

Stanley E. Banks  is Assistant  Professor  and  Artist-In-Residence  at  Avila  University.  His books include Blue Issues, Blue Beat Syncopation, On 10th Alley Way, Coming From A Funky Time and Place, and Rhythm and Guts.

Phyllis Becker is the coordinator of the Riverfront Reading series in KC. Helicon Nine published her book How I Came to Love Jazz and other Poems. Her poems have also been set to jazz on the compact disc, Poetry of Love, produced by jazz vocalist, Angela Hagenbach.

Maria Vasquez Boyd is producer/host, of ARTSPEAK RADIO, a weekly live program on 90.1FM KKFI Kansas City Community Radio. Since 2012, she features local and world-renowned artists, writers, poets, playwrights. Boyd is a founding member of the Latino Writers Collective, a storyteller, poet, artist, designer, and painter, who exhibits her work across the country.

Xánath Caraza is the author of fifteen poetry collections and two short story collections. For the 2018 International Latino Book Awards, she received First Place for ‘Lágrima roja’ and ‘Sin preámbulos/Without Preamble’ for “Best Book of Poetry in Spanish” and “Best Book Bilingual Poetry.”

Tina Hacker is happy to announce that Kelsay Books will be publishing her new collection titled, GOLEMS, in July 2021. The poems are based on the golem character from Jewish folklore. Her two previous collections are Listening to Night Whistles and Cutting It.

Jemshed Khan has published in diverse magazines including Unlikely Stories, Rigorous, Rat's Ass Review,  Clockwise Cat, shufPoetry, Barzakh, pureSlush, etc.  Recent work appears in Coal City Review, San Pedro River Review, I-70 Review, and Writers Resist.  He has served as a guest editor for Glass: Poets Resist. His chapbook Speech in an Age of Reason is available on Finishing Line Press.

Hyejung Kook's poetry has appeared in the Denver Quarterly, Memorious, Prairie Schooner, The Massachusetts Review, Glass: A Journal of Poetry, Pleiades, and elsewhere. She is a Fulbright grantee and a Kundiman fellow.

Jenny Molberg, a 2019-2020 NEA Fellow, is the author of two collections of poetry: Marvels of the Invisible (Tupelo Press) and Refusal (LSU Press).

Glenn North is Executive Director of the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center. He has an MFA in Creative Writing from UMKC, and he's currently filling his appointment as the Poet Laureate of the 18th & Vine Historic Jazz District.

Trish Reeves’s fellowships include NEA, Yaddo, and Kansas Arts.  Her first book, Returning the Question, won the Cleveland State Poetry Center Prize; her latest collection is God, Maybe, 2018. Reeves taught 21 years at Haskell Indian Nations University and leads Johnson County Kansas Corrections’ Changing Lives Through Literature.

Robert Stewart’s latest book of poems is Working Class (Stephen F. Austin Univ.) and latest book of essays is The Narrow Gate: Writing, Art & Values (Serving House).  He lives in Prairie Village, Kan.

Courtney Faye Taylor is a winner of the 92Y Discovery / Boston Review Poetry Prize. Her work has been featured in The Nation, Ploughshares, Best New Poets 2020, The New Republic, Kenyon Review and elsewhere. Courtney is the Poetry Editor of SLICE Magazine.

William Trowbridge’s ninth poetry collection, The Complete Fool, is forthcoming from Red Hen Press in 2022. His latest, Oldguy Superhero: The Complete Collection, came out from Red Hen in 2019.  He was Poet Laureate of Missouri from 2012 to 2016.

Maryfrances Wagner’s newest books are The Immigrants’ New Camera and The Silence of Red Glass.  She is on the Board of Directors for The Writers Place and is co-editor of I-70 Review.

(c) 2023 The Writers Place

31 W. 31st ST, Kansas City MO 64108

Email: info@writersplace.org 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software